Islands of Honduras

Islands of Honduras in the Bay of Honduras, Caribbean Sea and Gulf of Fonseca, on the Pacific coast of Central America

Roatan Island, Guanaja Island, Utila Island, Barbaretta Island, Cayos Cochinos the Hog Islands (Cochino Pequeno and Cochino Grande Islands) and Chachauate Key and the Swan Islands. Bobel Cay, Savanna Cay, Port Royal Cay and South Cay

Roatan Island Honduras

Roatan Island

(Islas del la Bahia)

Roatán, (16.34°N 86.33° W) located between the islands of Utila and Guanaja, is the largest of The Honduras Bay Islands. It is approximately 60 kilometers long, and less than 8 kilometers wide at its widest point. Although there is some debate on the actual size this is the most popular size. Located near the largest barrier reef in the Caribbean Sea (second largest worldwide after Australia's Great Barrier Reef), it has become an important cruising and diving destination in Honduras. Tourism and Commercial Fishing are the two critical economic producers.


Utila Island

Utila is the third largest of Honduras' Bay Islands, after Roatán and Guanaja, in a region that marks the south end of the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System, the second-largest in the world. The eastern end of the island is capped by a thin veneer of basaltic volcanic rocks, erupted from several pyroclastic cones including 243 ft Pumpkin Hill which forms the highest point on the island. 18 miles from the Honduras mainland port of La Ceiba. Utila island is just 11 km long and 4 km at its widest and surrounded by vast coral reefs with prolific undersea life. It has been documented in history since Columbus' fourth voyage, and currently enjoys tourism with emphasis on recreational scuba diving.


Guanaja Island

Guanaja Island, Honduras is featured in this image photographed by an Expedition 14 crew member on the International Space Station. Guanaja Island is located along the southwestern margin of the Gulf of Mexico, approximately 60 kilometers north of mainland Honduras. The island is situated near the western edge of the Cayman Ridge, a topographic feature comprised of rock types indicative of ancient volcanic islands, sedimentary layers, and ocean crust. The Ridge formed as a result of tectonic interactions between the North American, South American, and Caribbean Plates. Guanaja and the nearby islands of Roatan and Utila comprise the only portions of the western Cayman Ridge currently exposed above water.

Cayos Cochinos

Cayos Cochinos the Hog Islands

Cayos Cochinos (Islas del la Bahia) in Honduras (the Hog Islands) is an archipelago 19 km north of Honduras's Caribbean coast, near La Ceiba. Cayos Cochinos includes two larger islands (Cochino Pequeno and Cochino Grande) along with eleven tiny islands. The preserved seascape of Cayos Cochinos totals 460 square kilometers. The Cayos Cochinos island Chachauate Key is home to a Garifuna settlement.

Photo Comeing

Bobel Cay, Savanna Cay, Port Royal Cay and South Cay

Bobel Cay Alternate names : Cayo Bobee - Robel Cay - Coordinates UTM : LS26 Geographical coordinates in decimal degrees (WGS84) Latitude : 15.083 Longitude : -82.667 KML Export for Google Earth Google maps view of Bobel Cay Google links for Bobel Cay Geographical coordinates in degrees minutes seconds (WGS84) Latitude : 15 05' 00'' Longitude : -82 40' 00''


Barbareta Island

(Islas del la Bahia)


Cayo Sur


Swan Islands

(Furthest Islands North of Honduras)


Tigre Island

(Valle Department)

El Tigre is in the Gulf of Fonseca, a body of water on the Pacific coast of Central America. The is a conical basaltic stratovolcano and the southernmost volcano in Honduras. It belongs to Valle department. Together with a few tiny satellite islets and rocks (e.g. Isla Comandante off the north coast), it forms the municipality of Amapala, with an area of 75.2 km² and a population of 2,482 as of the census of 2001 (of which 4 people were living on Isla Comandante) Three countries, Honduras, El Salvador, and Nicaragua, have coastline along the Gulf of Fonseca, and all three have been involved in a lengthly dispute over the rights to the gulf and the islands located there within. In 1992, a chamber of the International Court of Justice (ICJ) decided the Land, Island and Maritime Frontier Dispute, of which the gulf dispute was a part. The ICJ determined that El Salvador, Honduras, and Nicaragua were to share control of the Gulf of Fonseca. El Salvador was awarded the islands of Meanguera and Meanguerita, and Honduras was awarded the island of El Tigre.


Helene Island, Morat,Pigeon Cays